Make your Makeup be the Life of the Concert *Collab with @rolly.mag*

After attending both Shawn Mendes concerts in Sydney two weeks ago, I had the idea to do a blog post on my makeup of choice for the two nights. After doing an Instagram survey, @rolly.mag and I discovered that we were both planning to do the same post. So we’ve collaborated together to share our go-to concert makeup and also to share our experiences.

This is the fourth time that @rolly.mag and I have collaborated together now, which makes me super happy. Not only is she an amazing friend, but she also produces some great Instagram and blog content, which I am super stoked to be able to be a part of. I’m just so thankful for the friends I’ve made through blogging. Just being able to collaborate on blog posts and write is a dream come true.

You can check out @rolly.mag’s post here.

IMG_6014.jpg

When attending concerts light-weight and breathable makeup products are always my go-to. Although it’s likely to be hot and sweaty inside the arena, I just always like to get glammed up. I have attended quite a few concerts in the past year from Harry Styles, Niall Horan, PATD! and Shawn Mendes and from these have been able to work out my ideal concert makeup look.

For my base I always ensure that my skin is moisturised before going in with a primer. I just feels that this helps to keep my skin feeling and looking fresh throughout the night.
For primer this time around my choice was the Fenty Pro Filt’r Instant Retouch Primer. Not only does it keep my skin looking hydrated, but also leaves a flawless and pore filled base for my foundation. This time around I wore the L’Oreal Infallible 24hr Fresh Wear foundation. It’s full coverage, got a satin finish and has a formula that is designed for gym workouts, which means it would be perfect for the arenas climate. Then for concealer I chose the ColourPop No Filter Concealer. Although, not full coverage, it leaves my skin looking flawless and bright. It also doesn’t sink into fine lines, which means I won’t be able to look fresh all night long.

For bronzer I went with my current holy-grail Benefit Cosmetic’s Hoola Bronzer. It’s a beautiful cool-toned brown that suits my skin tone and also works to warm up my complexion at the same time.
Then blush was Hourglass’s Mecca Glow, which is a gorgeous peachy pink. It’s subtle on the cheeks but really worked to add some colour back into my face. Then lastly for highlighter I went with the ABH x Amrezy highlighter. I wanted a nice golden finish to my skin, so this was the perfect choice. The mix of golden and vanilla undertones was perfect with my bronzed up skin I already had.

IMG_6640

Now normally for concerts I opt for a waterproof mascara. But this time around I used the Smashbox Superfan mascara. It’s not waterproof, but the formula is quite long-lasting unless it comes in contact with some serious water. At concerts I’m prone to letting out a few tears just from the pure joy of seeing them live and the overall atmosphere. But even with my few tears this mascara lasted! It still looked perfect at the end of the night and I wasn’t left with any racoon eyes.

The last addition to my routine was some Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow and Mecca Max brow gel to keep them locked in. They weren’t going to move around at all.
This time around I didn’t wear eyeshadow, as I just didn’t feel like it. But if I did wear some it would have been a smokey or pink toned eye look.

Basically, for my entire makeup routine I worked to ensure that it all stayed locked in place. That’s why I used not only MAC Fix+ but also Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray to ensure that my makeup didn’t go anywhere. Because there’s nothing worse than looking in a mirror at the end of the night and seeing that half of your face has disappeared.

While in the arena line the girls in front of me were talking about how at a Taylor Swift concert their makeup melted off their face. My recommendation to help prevent this from happening is to use setting powder and setting spray to lock your makeup into place. It’s my go-to trick for keeping mine on my face and really does help.

This makeup definitely helped me to be the ‘Life of the Concert’ (yes, I did just do that) and keep me looking fresh and hydrated all night long. I’ll definitely be considering the same combination for any other concerts or events I go to.

IMG_5721.jpg

Now to share a little bit about my experience…

On the Saturday night I had the silver package, which enabled me to be able to attend the Q&A session. Although I didn’t get to meet Shawn, I did get to sit in the same room as him, so it all balances out. The Q&A session enables a group of around 200 people to sit in a room and have the possibility of asking Shawn a question. I didn’t get chosen during it, but some of the girls in front of and beside me did… so I guess Shawn still looked at me, haha.

The lighting in the room itself was super dark so I do apologise for the extremely low quality photos. My iPhone 7 kind of had a bit of a tantrum with the lighting conditions.
Also, I had some videos I wanted to share but WordPress won’t let me upload them.

The concert itself was absolutely incredible and almost ran for 2 hours. I was impressed with the sound and live quality of Shawn’s voice. He sounds exactly how he does in his recordings. Not to mention that you can hear and see the love and joy for his job as he’s on stage. He has a great presence. I’d definitely go to his concert again.

IMG_5612

Then on the Sunday night I bought some A-Reserve Side View tickets. I’d never sat in the side view before, so I was a little nervous as to what my view would be like, but once I sat down I realised there was nothing to be afraid of.
Not only could I see backstage, but my seat was also in line with the stage. The only downside was that when the back lights went white, my eyes were a little blinded, because they were almost next to me. There was also the fact that Shawn was performing to the audience in front and not to the side. But considering that those people directly in front had paid between $400-$1000 to sit there I was glad that he did. I’ve previously been to concerts where I’ve paid $500+ for a ticket and then been placed rows behind general admission who only paid $200 for theirs. IMG_6058.jpg

Overall, it was a great two nights and ones that I won’t forget for a while. You’ll probably see me wearing my merchandise for a long time, considering it cost an arm and a leg to buy. Oh the joys…

I just want to say a massive thank you again to @rolly.mag for collaborating with me again! Please don’t forget to check out her blog post.

Screen Shot 2019-07-22 at 5.57.35 pm

2 thoughts on “Make your Makeup be the Life of the Concert *Collab with @rolly.mag*

  1. Not only was this fun to see your makeup, but also your pics! Aww he is such a cutie! Omg can you believe we’ve collabed four times!!! That makes me so happy 💕💕

    Like

Leave a comment